On Procrastination!

Posted: September 10, 2010 in Deep Thoughts
Tags: , ,

MLK memorial April 2012 run
My Mom told me to “Never put off until tomorrow what you can do today”.  Good advice; however, I haven’t always followed it.  Procrastination is a part if not a way of life.  Sometimes “not procrastinating” can be bad if it means giving up something you would rather do.  However, if you constantly put off what should be a priority you will eventually pay a high price for procrastination.  I saw a quote by Martin Luther King in a book I began reading recently.  The part that grabbed me and inspired this post was:  “We are faced with the fact, my friends, that tomorrow is today. We are confronted with the fierce urgency of now.”  He was inspiring himself and others to act now to work toward civil rights, definitely something that should not be put off.  But there are other things that we put off every day and the cost to our ability to live a full life increases every time we procrastinate.  I see this with my children putting off their education and with myself in putting off projects that could improve my financial future. 

Opportunities can be lost!  You can never have now back.  You will do what you do with it and then it is gone!  If you decide to sit on the couch, that is what you will always have to remember about now.  If you chose to sit in a college class, apply yourself fully, and learn, you will have the knowledge gained.  If you decide to work on a project that can advance your career, or open other opportunities up for you, then you will have those opportunities to work with. 

Now is driven by personal decisions.  We have free will, whether we choose to lead, follow, or to take the path less traveled.  We all can calculate the consequences of our actions if we take the time to think about it.  I have used past “nows” in ways that I regret; I’m sure I’m not alone there.  I’m sure I will regret how I use future “nows” too, but I will at least try to hold on the the urgency of the now. 

Don’t just drift, choose how you spend your now.

Jenny and Eric hiking in Mission Trails Park North Fortuna Trail.jpg.08

Leave a Reply

