Hauntings!

Posted: December 30, 2010 in Deep Thoughts, Family and Friends
Tags: ,

View from the World Trade Center June 2001

Ghosts from my past haunt my memories.

Do these ghosts represent real people?

Are they alive or dead?  Where do they live?  What are they up to?

We were friends or lovers and now I don’t even know them.

 

The hauntings become more frequent with age.

Will the hauntings take over my mind as I get older and there are more lost people?

Should I become more isolated so I have fewer ghosts?

Should I move to the deep woods to give the ghosts more of me?

 

The ghosts are weakest when I’m occupied or with people.

So I’m faced with a dilemma, be outgoing and meet people to keep the ghosts at bay

But that leads to more potential ghosts…

The best option is to never stop living, to live life to the fullest.

To keep the ghosts of the past in the past,

and to keeps the friends and lover of the present with me for life!

 

You can never know though.

Maybe the ghosts will be welcome companions in my old age.

Maybe they will be my most loyal, steadfast, and lifelong companions.

I don’t look forward to a time when all I have is the ghosts of my past,

But I do hope that if I’m ever alone with my ghosts that they remind me of a full life.

Mud Run MCAS Tustin 1986

Leave a Reply

