National Academy Press

Posted: July 8, 2011 in Learn Something, Learning Resources, Resources
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m not sure how I started getting an email from National Academy Press, but I’ve really come to look forward to their occasional book notices.  They usually list books from a fairly specific topic areas.  Most of the books can  can be read completely free on their site, but there are exceptions, especially outside of the science related books.  Occasionally pre-release books can be downloaded as a PDF for free.  Released books can be downloaded as a PDF for a fee.

Up until recently I had not gone to the site and just looked around.  The books I had looked at up to that point were all related to my work.  But in one of my recent emails I saw a book that I had a personal interest in.  They have a very useful “Topics” list on the left side of the page. In the areas that I looked they had a fairly good list of books to read. If you are looking at a technology topic list keep an eye on the publication date, because they keep books listed for a long time, and some of the information in these books may be dated.

This is definitely a good resource for learning something new.  Some fascinating books here!

Update: As of June 2, 2011 all National Academy Press published .pdf formated books are freely available. There are other related titles available on the site for a fee.

Leave a Reply

