12 times a week!

Posted: July 10, 2011 in Fitness and Health, Food and Diet, Gym, Happiness
Tags: , , ,

There are several things worth doing 12 times a week but in this case I’m talking about going to the gym.  I discovered the benefits of this a couple of years ago when trying to shock my body into further improvements in conditioning when I had leveled off.  I’ve been pretty consistent with working out at least 3 times a week for the past 6 years.  And 21 years in the Marine Corps before that kept me in pretty good shape too.  But lately I feel like I’m losing a little ground to father time.  It seems like I’m getting thicker around the middle and not as firm everywhere else.  So I think it is time to shock my system again.  It seems like I always have an excuse to put it off for a week or two but I can’t think of any right now.  I’m traveling for work in 3 weeks, moving in about 5 weeks, and hiking in Yosemite in about 6 weeks, but I don’t expect that this exercise plan will hurt me, I think it will help.  Besides I never do it 2 weeks in a row.  I do one week with 12 workouts, then “take a week off” and only go to the gym 6 times.   If I keep that cycle up for 6-8 weeks I get in pretty good shape.  I will definitely have to give up blogging at 11:07PM if I’m going to get up at 5:00AM to get an hour in the gym before work, but I’m sure I’ll find a few minutes here and there to let my thoughts out.

The other thing I like about going to the gym 12 times a week is it makes me come up with different workout routines.  I have a pretty boring 2 workout rotation.  Triceps and chest for one work out, and then biceps and back for the next.  I always do at least 20 minutes of cardio, usually the elliptical machine, but I mix in running (a little over 3 miles), and sometimes add in 10 minutes or so on the rowing machine.  Working out 12 times a week also makes me much more diligent about stretching.  There is no way to keep going that often without staying loose. 

I’ll come back and update this post with weeks that I make it to the gym 12 times (or come close), that will motivate me to keep trying to do this.  I made it 8 times a couple of weeks ago (when I started the draft of this post), but haven’t made it 12 times yet.  Looking at my schedule the upcoming week is the best week to get started that I’ll have for a couple of months, so hopefully I’ll make it.  Of course that means no alcohol this afternoon at the concert in the park… oh well!

Update: Finished 12 workouts the week of 9-16 July. It felt ok. I think I’ll need to do it at least 4 more times to reach my goals. Looking forward to only 6 workouts next week.

Leave a Reply

