Race for Autism – (NFAR) – San Diego 24 March 2012

Posted: December 29, 2011 in Family and Friends, Fitness and Health, Full Life, Running, Worthwhile Activities
Tags: , , , , , ,

Sean hiking Iron MountainI will be running in the 8th Annual National Foundation for Autism Research (NFAR) Race for Autism in San Diego on 24 March 2012. This will be my third time running this race. Since my first run in 2010, I’ve also been active in the NFAR Men’s Group that meets monthly in San Diego. My son has High Functioning Autism and the focus of NFAR is to support research in education for children with Autism. This focus fits in perfectly with my son’s needs. NFAR supports innovative treatments for Autism and has a focus on giving grants to local teachers who need resources to support teaching children with Autism. The schools my son has attended in Southern California have been instrumental in his progress. I will never be able to thank his teachers enough for the extraordinary efforts that they have made to help him. And their efforts have paid off. He is doing very well in school and continues to do better every year. I expect he will have a more rewarding future thanks to their efforts. So this event is the least I can do to try to support their efforts, not only for my son but for the other students in San Diego working to overcome the challenges that Autism has thrown their way.

Me and Sean in the Botanical Building Balboa ParkThis is NFAR’s main fund-raising event each year. It is a very beautiful run through Balboa Park. If you would rather not run, you can do a walk instead. If you can’t make it out for the run or the walk, feel free to donate to NFAR directly on their site or make a donation through my donation page before the run.

Update: We had a fun team… we had custom – homemade shirts. The ladies looked marvelous in them, I got lots of laughs, so I went with the NFAR shirt! We lost a few to sickness as we got closer to the race. Thanks to everyone for signing up and supporting NFAR.

Our team for the NFAR Race for Autism 24 March 2012

Leave a Reply

