Marine Corps Marathon (2013 – Very Early Planning)

Posted: March 15, 2012 in Bucket List, Fitness and Health, Food and Diet, Happiness, Running, Worthwhile Activities
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

View of the Capitol while running on the Mall 28 July 2011Why do I want to run the Marine Corps Marathon? Why do I want to run a Marathon at all. I love to run, but I don’t expect a Marathon to be fun. No this is definitely on the “what were you thinking when you decided you wanted to do that” side of my Bucket List, not the “go there to sip tropical drinks on the beach” side. I love a Challenge! I’m a Marine and will always be a Marine, so the Marine Corps Marathon makes sense. So I guess I have a couple of reasons. But still… what was I thinking when I added this to the bucket list! I usually run about 3 miles at a time. The longest run I ever remember doing was 10 miles, and that was a very long time ago.

Why the “very early planning”. Inevitably when I run hard I end up with an injury, so I want to build up slowly and hopefully stay healthy. My wind is good, but will get better, the biggest issue is the pounding. I’m no longer built like a runner. When I was younger I used to have a runner’s build and weighed about 170. Now I’m about 210. A couple of years ago I was really attacking my runs, my weight was down below 195 and I felt great. I wasn’t at my peak, but my pace was getting better with every run. I thought I was on my way back to sub 7 minute miles. However, I had a couple of nagging issues. A couple of years before that I had a very aggressive bunion surgery including breaking a bone, moving the bones leading to my big toe in with all that held in place by a plate with a couple of screws. That foot started swelling and aching again if I ran more than once a week. I also kept injuring my lower back. I was letting my hamstrings and hip flexors get too tight. I wasn’t stretching between runs like I should have. Eventually I threw my back out badly and for about 6 months after that my thighs were numb. So this time I want to do it right. Build up slowly, lose more weight, and stretch consistently. In order to run a decent marathon I need to be closer to 185-190 than my current 215. At that weight I won’t be running at my best, but I will be able to maintain a reasonable pace.

Before I started running this time I went to Road Runners Sports to get the best shoes I could to avoid foot pain and other repetitive motion injuries. I love my new shoes. My foot has bothered my occasionally, but has not swelled up. I loved the shoes so much I bought a spare pair when I saw them on sale at Sports Authority recently.

Part of the plan to train is to set up some runs before then that force me to train, and get me ready. My goal for 2012 is a half marathon. I found a few half marathons that could have worked for 2012 – Silver Strand Half Marathon or the Camp Pendleton Heartbreak Ridge Half Marathon. However, I ended up signing up for the America’s Finest City Half Marathon, August 19th 2012. That gives me a more immediate goal than October 2013. I have 6 months!

I’ll follow this post up with more information on my training, information on getting into the Marine Corps Marathon, there is limited participation, and high demand.

Next posts in this series:
Marine Corps Marathon 2013 – Training Plan and Registering
26.2 Miles of Music

Comments
  1. Tracy says:

    I’m hoping to make MCM 2013 my first full marathon…and like you am considering the Irish Sprint 10K to get that golden ticket. But there is one other way to get in w/o the golden ticket and that\’s to run on behalf of a charity team. There are lots of worthy ones out there: Team in Training, Wounded Warrior, or my own OAR (Organization for Autism Research).

    • eric.rial says:

      That a good point Tracy. I will also consider that option. Good luck with your training, getting registered and completing the MCM. Are you planning to do other runs, like any half marathons? I think that I would procrastinate on my training without that intermediate goal.

Leave a Reply

