Running San Diego Harbor area Sep 2013
There are 5 more training weekends before the 2013 Marine Corps Marathon. I’m a little behind on my training, due to vacation not injury. which I guess is better. I had planned to have 3 long runs over 20 miles, in my previous post on my training plan – Marine Corps Marathon Training Plan (Over 50, Over Trained, and “A Little” Over Weight. Now, if I push my progressive increases to 2 miles more each weekend instead of 1, I will have just 2 runs over 20 miles before starting my taper. However, I have been able to run about 44 more total miles than the original plan up to this point, even with a two weekend vacation from progressive long runs. This is mostly because I also took about 4 weeks off long runs before starting training, allowing myself to heal and lose most of the soreness. It also helps that there are so many terrific places to run in San Diego! The three pictures here were taken on an eight mile run this week along the San Diego Harbor. I love that the moon was there in all three pictures!

Running on San Diego Harbor Island Sep 2013

I’m feeling terrific at this point, unfortunately I’m not completely confident I’ll achieve my goal pace of 10 minute per mile. The last long training run that I was able to keep at the 10 minute per mile pace was a 14 mile run at the end of July. I’ve been faster again after the vacation break, but still closer to 10:30 minute miles on my last long run of 17 miles. My shorter runs have been much better, and I’ve been pushing myself on these runs to improve my speed. However, at this point I’m concerned I will run out of training time and not be where I need to be on time.

Running at dusk in San Diego near Spanish Landing

Since this is my first and probably my last marathon I’m really pushing to achieve all my goals. If I don’t finish I will definitely be running another marathon, but I don’t think I will run again if I have a respectable time, but miss my original time goal. My plan for the next 5 weeks of training is to make that decision unnecessary. So I will be pushing myself on every run. I’ll be doing everything possible to lose another 10 pounds. I’ll be sitting in the jetted tub every night to ease the sore knees and Achilles tendons. I’ll take ibuprofen and gluocosamine on a regular schedule too. Regardless of what happens, I want to know that I did everything possible in this final push to get ready for this race.

Here is my final push – updated plan for the remaining 6 training weeks.

Week Tuesday Thursday Sunday Total
Eleven 8 Miles 6 Miles 19 Miles 33 Miles
Twelve 9 Miles 6 miles 21 Miles 36 Miles
Thirteen 10 Miles 6 Miles 22 Miles 38 Miles
Thirteen 6 Miles 4 Miles 13 Miles 23 Miles
Fourteen 6 Miles 4 Miles 10 Miles 20 Miles
Fifteen 5 Miles 3 Miles Race Day on Saturday – 26.2 34.2 Miles
Comments
  1. Oh, best of luck!! Are you going to run with a pacer during the race? That could help you achieve your goals. I know you’ll do great!

  2. Love the photos and the moon. I miss San Diego!

  3. Lauren says:

    I’m running the MCM this year too. I feel like I’ve finally hit the point in training where I’m just ready to be done. But this is the homestretch. Only three more weeks until tapering begins!

    • eric.rial says:

      The taper will be great! I’m really ready for the taper too! Just 3 more “longest runs of my life so far” to do. Tomorrow we are running a new route by the coast to keep it interesting.

      Good luck on your final weeks of training and with the Marathon!

Leave a Reply

