26.2 Miles of Music – Playlist

Posted: October 1, 2013 in Fitness and Health, Music, Running
Tags: , , , , , ,

San Diego Rock and Roll Half Marathon - MCM Bound
I’ve put in a lot of miles (hundreds), since I had the thought of creating a playlist to motivate me during the Marine Corps Marathon. This Saturday my run will put me over 500 running miles in the last 8 months. All of those miles have given me some additional perspective on what type of music works to get me going, to help me keep rolling along, and to keep going when I feel like stopping. With the long runs I’ve done in the last month or so, I’ve also got a better idea of when I’ll be at those different points. At this point I expect everything past 18 miles to be in the “keep me going” part of the playlist!

So what “gets me going”? If I’m running 5-6 miles, I can throw on some Aerosmith and AC/DC and that will get me moving, but when I’m facing a 26.2 mile run, I’ll need some of that, but I’ll also need some much more subtle “get going music”. The rolling along stuff is all about the rhythm and the beat of the music. The keep me going music has to touch the part of me that motivates me to run in the first place, and the part of me that seek challenges and just refuses to give up.

I hope to finish in under 4:30, but I better give myself some cushion. I figure that an hour should be plenty. I started by sorting through my digital music and picking upbeat, inspirational, or meaningful music. After the first cut I was up to 9 hours and 40 minutes of music… way too much. Cutting was actually harder than adding the songs to begin with. This was partly because I love all these songs, and partly because I’m not sure what will keep me going past 18 miles yet.

Anyway here’s the 5 hour and 22 minute playlist:

Name – Artist
Sex On Fire – Kings Of Leon
Heartbeat –  The Fray
Everybody Learns From Disaster – Dashboard Confessional
Home Is Where The Heart Is – John Butler Trio
If It’s Love – Train
Pickapart – John Butler Trio
Black Horse & The Cherry Tree – KT Tunstall
Hey, Soul Sister – Train
Here We Are – The Fray
Beautiful Disaster – American Hi-Fi  Wild Fire – John Mayer
Close To You – John Butler Trio
(If You’re Wondering If I Want You To) I Want You To – Weezer
Semi Charmed Life – Third Eye Blind
Better Than – John Butler Trio
Kryptonite – 3 Doors Down
Sweet Child Of Mine – Guns N’ Roses
Good People – Jack Johnson
The Mountains Win Again – Blues Traveler
Save Me San Francisco – Train
Treat Yo Mama – John Butler Trio
The Outsiders – Needtobreathe
Ugly American – Blues Traveler
Suddenly I See – KT Tunstall
King of Anything – Sara Bareilles
But Anyway – Blues Traveler
Walk On the Ocean (The OC) – John Mayer
Sitting, Waiting, Wishing – Jack Johnson
Be Ok – Ingrid Michaelson
Come On Get Higher – Matt Nathanson
48 to Go – The Fray
Wrong Way Down A One Way Road – John Butler Trio
Canadian Rose – Blues Traveler
(I’ve Got To) Stop Thinkin’ ’bout That J- ames Taylor
Girl I wanna make you sweat – UB40
Hole In My Soul (Live) – Aerosmith
I’ve Seen Better Days – Barenaked Ladies
Zebra – John Butler Trio
Taylor – Jack Johnson
Island in the sun – Weezer
Revelry – Kings Of Leon
This Is How A Heart Breaks – Rob Thomas
Head on Collision – A New Found Glory
Follow Me – Uncle Kracker
Banana Pancakes – Jack Johnson
Jumper – Third Eye Blind
Flavor Of The Week – American Hi-Fi
Chasing Cars – Snow Patrol
Run for Your Life – The Fray
Won’t Turn Back – Needtobreathe
Be Still – The Fray
Where The Story Ends – The Fray
This Ain’t Goodbye – Train
Sk8er Boi – Avril Lavigne
All For You – Blues Traveler
Everyday – Dave Matthews Band
Help! –  Beatles
Wicked Game – Phillip Phillips
One Life Stand – Damon Castillo Band
Accidentally in Love – Counting Crows
Better Together – Jack Johnson
Something Beautiful – Needtobreathe
A Sunday Kind of Love – Etta James
Brick By Brick – Train
More Time – Needtobreathe
Surround Me – Ben Taylor
Calling All Angels – Train
Lay ‘Em Down – Needtobreathe
Smile – Uncle Kracker
Every Breath You Take – UB40
Turn Me On – The Fray
At Last – Etta James  (Hope to finish on this one…)
Waiting on the Day – John Mayer
These small hours – Rob Thomas
Marry Me – Train
1961 – The Fray
Clarity- John Mayer
I Won’t Look Back – Needtobreathe
Love Me Do – Beatles
Holiday in the Sun – Weezer
Somethings Gotta Give -John Butler Trio
Someday – Rob Thomas
Like A Rolling Stone – Bob Dylan
Daughters – John Mayer
Someone Like You (One Fine Day Soundtrack) – Shawn Colvin  – Update:  I actually finished around here, but only because I listened to some songs twice!
21 Things – Alanis Morissette
Don’t Let Me Be Lonely Tonight – James Taylor
The Fighter – The Fray
Better Days – Goo Goo Dolls

Now I just have to hope that me and my IPOD battery last this long! I’ll be trying this playlist out on the next two long runs to see how well it works. If there are any changes I’ll post an update. When I’m running with my son I don’t usually listen to music until after the halfway point, but I think we need to run our own pace for the next couple runs to get the most out of the training and work out what pace we want to run. We each need to try out our own strategies and we are running out of time.

Update:  See my post on running the Marathon…Marine Corps Marathon 2013 (Washington DC – 27 Oct 2013)

Leave a Reply

