John Mayer with Phillip Phillips in Chula Vista CA – 04 Oct 2013

Posted: October 8, 2013 in Bucket List, Music
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Phillip Phillips jamming with fellow musicians in San Diego October 2013
We became huge Phillip Phillips fans during American Idol a couple of years ago. He was one of my favorites from the beginning of the season. We love his first album and although we love his singles “Home” and “Gone, Gone, Gone”, it’s the songs on the album that he wrote that are my favorites. Songs like “Where We Came From”, “Can’t go Wrong“, “Man on the Moon“, and “So Easy”. He also took us all the way back to the beginning with his version of Thriller, the song that he played at his Idol audition…

Phillip Phillips putting on an energetic show in San Diego October 2013

We’re looking forward to more great music in the future from Phillip Phillips and hope to see him again soon.

John Mayer and band kicking off his 2013 San Diego show with Queen of California

John Mayer started out with a song from his 2009 Born and Raised Album – “Queen of California“. It’s an energetic song and a good way to get a large crowd going. I skipped his 2009 concert in San Diego because I wasn’t sure his style of music would work in such a large venue. Of course I would love to see him play a smaller venue, but he had no problems filling the Amphitheater with music. The entire crowd, from the front row to the lawn, was up and rocking for “Queen of California”.

The sets for the entire John Mayer show were awesome. They inspired me to consider adding Monument Valley to my Bucket List; however, my wife has been there… a long drive, take a look, and then either stay at the $500 a night hotel, or leave! Let me do a little more research on this one before I “put it on the list”. Most of the sets were desert scenes, with skies that looked like they were pulled directly from Space.com… like the stars in the sky for “Queen of California”. But they also had sunrises…

John Mayer sings Something Like Olivia as the sun rises at Chula Vista Ca

super moons,

John Mayer sings in front of a super moon set San Diego 2013

falling snow…

John Mayer San Diego Ca - Monument Valley with falling Snow background-001

large dangling stars, and falling rose petals (I thought those were BBQ Pringle’s until my wife corrected my mistake). The huge burning bush hanging over the stage after the bands first exit was a good sign they would be back…

Burning Bush after John Mayers first exit was a good sign that he would be back

to sing in front of burning bushes rising from the desert floor…

John Mayer with Burning Bushes rising from the desert floor

Really interesting sets! But the sets were just sets, the real show was the music. The biggest surprise of the night for me was just how well John Mayer plays the guitar. I knew he played the guitar, but my main focus with his music in the past was his lyrics and singing. What made the night for me was John Mayer’s guitar skills.

Nice closeup of John Mayer at Sleep Train Chula Vista Oct 2013

His second song was Wildfire, this is my favorite song off his new album Paradise Valley. When he swings into the “You look fine, fine, fine; put your feet up next to mine” chorus, I just can’t help singing along. I’m pretty sure I said, “This is my favorite John Mayer song” about 6 times throughout the night and I found several more favorites he didn’t play for us in my John Mayer music collection on iTunes when we got home! If I had to narrow it down to 3 songs it would be “Gravity”, “My Stupid Mouth”, “Waiting on the World to Change”, and can’t leave out my favorite John Mayer song of all time… “No Such Thing” (which he said he was playing for the first time on this tour). OK that was more than 3 but it still leaves out several others that I really do love including a lot of songs on his newest album like “Dear Marie”, “Waiting on the Day”, and a song that he put the guitar down for and played on the piano – “I Will be Found”.

John Mayer Playing Piano and singing I will be Found San Diego October 2013

I have a new-found appreciation for John Mayer’s overall musical talent, especially his ability to play the guitar. I will never again doubt his ability to make a big venue work. Although we have seen some terrific concerts in 2013 including Imagine Dragons, One Republic, Steve Miller (also a great guitarist) and Fleetwood Mac, I can say without a doubt that this was my favorite show so far. If you get a chance to see John Mayer live, don’t miss out.

More: Live Music Posts (Favorite Artists and Favorite Venues)

Comments
  1. ade2709 says:

    Cool review and nice pictures! I also have a new-found appreciation for John Mayer, I think it has been a hugely successful tour and that he is maturing into an even more brilliant musician than he was before. And I am obsessed with Phillip Phillips, cannot wait to hear new music from him. I also much prefer the songs he wrote on the album over “Home” and “Gone, Gone, Gone”. Have you listened to his new acoustic LP? Beautiful, just came out on iTunes yesterday (It’s called iTunes Session). Thanks for reading a liking my review as well!

    • eric.rial says:

      Thanks for the comment. I did enjoy your review too. I plan to add “Seeing a concert at the Gorge” to my bucket list. Looks like a one of a kind venue, thanks for the inspriration. I didn’t know there was a new acoustic LP for Phillip Phillips, but I’ll check it out. I don’t have small children, but your info on taking children to their first concert was interesting and grandkids are on their way – so you never know.

      • ade2709 says:

        You have to make it to The Gorge one day, it’s totally worth the trip! Thanks for your comments about the tips for taking kids to concerts; it was hard for me to find any info online about that. Thanks for reading again!

Leave a Reply

